Since 1965 the Cougars have been one of the country’s premier rugby programs.

Most recently BYU has promoted 47 Collegiate All-Americans since 2001 and won the National Championship in 2009 & 2012 with seven straight title match appearances since 2006.

BYU has also promoted 12 USA Men’s National Team players in its history with 9 having represented the USA since 2001.

Two BYU Rugby alumni have gone on to play professionally with Salesi Sika (’06) and Alipate Tuilevuka (’06) landing contracts in France (Sika) and Ireland (Tuilevuka) respectively.

The BYU Rugby program is currently the university’s “winningest” sports program with only 23 losses in the last 22 years.

Officially founded as a BYU sports team in 1965 the Cougars have since enjoyed wide-ranging success on and off the field. Rugby was first played at BYU the late 19th century, but as football took over in the early 20th century, rugby was not a regular on the campus again until the 1960′s.

Since then the program has grown significantly and is perennially one of the top rugby programs in the country with National Championship in 2009 and 2012. The former was won in dramatic fashion over the powerhouse Cal Berkeley Bears in 2009, with a come-from-behind victory by the score of 25-22, while the latter was won in last years exciting 49-42 championship match over Arkansas State.

The Cougars have similarly been the standard of collegiate rugby within their region having won 7 out of the last 8 match-ups in the annual Wasatch Cup rivalry game against the University of Utah.

With a coaching staff the boasts a former Collegiate All-Americans head coach in head coach David Smyth and former Men’s National Team player in assistant coach Kimball Kjar, the Cougars, along with assistant coaches Wayne Tarawhiti and Justen Nadauld are continuing to build a program founded on success both on and off the field of rugby.

2015 Varsity Cup National Rugby Championship Roster

  1. Ryker Haddock
  2. Alex Vorster
  3. Kody Thompson
  4. Kyle Lontine
  5. Dan Hubert
  6. Kyle Sumsion
  7. Ara Elkington
  8. Joe Pikula
  9. Luke Mocke
  10. Johnny Linehan
  11. Jordan Lowry
  12. Seki Kofe
  13. Josh Whippy
  14. Josh Anderson
  15. Ryan Blaser


Zane Mendenhall, Nic Purcell, Matt Jensen, Steve Livingston, Win Elkington, Steve Davies, Jake Hall


Jared Whippy, Tua Laei, Calvin Whiting, Kevin Schofield, Lelann Latu, Joseph Nicholls